If you are a resident of the City of Negaunee and wish to obtain a License To Purchase (LTP) a handgun, come to the Negaunee Police Department with your Michigan drivers license. You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an LTP and the address on your driver's license must be up-to-date with the Secretary of State. Once at the department, a copy of your driver's license will be taken and a check of your criminal history will be conducted.
Barring any disqualifying information being revealed, LTP's are generally issued the same day if you apply during regular business hours (Mon-Tue-Wed 9:00am-5:00pm, Thur-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm). Keep in mind that criminal histories are faxed to our department by Central Dispatch and could be delayed if they are handling higher priority calls. Applications made after 3:30pm have the greatest chance of being affected by this and your LTP could be delayed until the following business day. If you apply afterhours, your LTP should be ready around 10am the following business day. There is no charge for obtaining a License to Purchase.
You do not need an LTP if you are purchasing a handgun from an FFL dealer; however, a Pistol Sales Record (PSR) must be completed including the dealer's FFL number.
Once you receive your LTP, you must have it notarized. This can be done in our office during regular business hours. There is a $10.00 charge for this service.
After your License to Purchase is notarized, you may take it to a dealer or private party to purchase the handgun keeping in mind it is only valid for thirty (30) days. The Seller must provide and record in full (triplicate form) the requested information pertaining to the handgun, the seller and the transaction. Once this is completed, the Seller will retain the SELLER COPY of the form for his/her own records. You will keep the copy marked as PURCHASER COPY (retain for 30 days) and you are required by law to either mail or deliver the MSP COPY to the Negaunee Police Department within 10 days of acquiring your firearm.
A safety inspection is no longer required.
Requirements for CPL Holders
CPL holders residing in the City of Negaunee must document pistol purchases on a Pistol Sales Record (PSR). These forms are a 3-part form and are available online at the State of Michigan website. After acquiring a handgun, CPL holders are required to mail or deliver the MSP COPY to the Negaunee Police Department within 10 days of the transaction.
If you have any questions regarding Licenses To Purchase or Pistol Sales Records, you may contact the Negaunee Police Department via telephone at 475-4154 or email your questions to: Contact The Chief